Image
A statue of a woman leaning on an urn with marigolds surrounding her, on a pink background.
Leeds Museums & Galleries
Fri 3 May 2024 - Sun 5 Jan 2025
Living with Death: an exhibition exploring death, dying and bereavement
Exhibitions
Heritage
Event organiser:
Leeds Museums & Galleries

See the latest exhibition at Leeds City Museum which invites visitors to discover how people experience death, grief and dying in different ways. Living with Death looks at how humans have developed knowledge and skills in response to life ending.

We know that death affects everyone, but it is often difficult to talk about. The exhibition hopes to gently encourage conversation through personal stories, and objects from across the world and throughout history.

A series of talks, workshops, and family-friendly events will complement the exhibition throughout the year.

Living with Death has been developed with input from local communities, and is supported by Dying Matters Leeds, part of a national initiative promoting public awareness of dying, death, and bereavement.

The exhibition is gratefully sponsored by Co-op Funeralcare.

Trigger warning – this exhibition deals with themes that some people may find difficult.

Please note - the museum is closed on Mondays except for bank holidays. See website for opening times.

Leeds City Museum

Millenium Square
Leeds
LS2 8BH
United Kingdom

53.801777, -1.546699

    Date
    Fri 3 May 2024 - Sun 5 Jan 2025
    Show all dates/times
    Fri 24 May 2024
    Sat 25 May 2024
    Sun 26 May 2024
    Mon 27 May 2024
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Tue 28 May 2024
    Wed 29 May 2024
    Thu 30 May 2024
    Fri 31 May 2024
    Sat 1 Jun 2024
    Sun 2 Jun 2024
    Tue 4 Jun 2024
    Wed 5 Jun 2024
    Thu 6 Jun 2024
    Fri 7 Jun 2024
    Sat 8 Jun 2024
    Sun 9 Jun 2024
    Tue 11 Jun 2024
    Wed 12 Jun 2024
    Thu 13 Jun 2024
    Fri 14 Jun 2024
    Sat 15 Jun 2024
    Sun 16 Jun 2024
    Tue 18 Jun 2024
    Wed 19 Jun 2024
    Thu 20 Jun 2024
    Fri 21 Jun 2024
    Sat 22 Jun 2024
    Sun 23 Jun 2024
    Tue 25 Jun 2024
    Wed 26 Jun 2024
    Thu 27 Jun 2024
    Fri 28 Jun 2024
    Sat 29 Jun 2024
    Sun 30 Jun 2024
    Tue 2 Jul 2024
    Wed 3 Jul 2024
    Thu 4 Jul 2024
    Fri 5 Jul 2024
    Sat 6 Jul 2024
    Sun 7 Jul 2024
    Tue 9 Jul 2024
    Wed 10 Jul 2024
    Thu 11 Jul 2024
    Fri 12 Jul 2024
    Sat 13 Jul 2024
    Sun 14 Jul 2024
    Tue 16 Jul 2024
    Wed 17 Jul 2024
    Thu 18 Jul 2024
    Fri 19 Jul 2024
    Sat 20 Jul 2024
    Sun 21 Jul 2024
    Tue 23 Jul 2024
    Wed 24 Jul 2024
    Thu 25 Jul 2024
    Fri 26 Jul 2024
    Sat 27 Jul 2024
    Sun 28 Jul 2024
    Tue 30 Jul 2024
    Wed 31 Jul 2024
    Thu 1 Aug 2024
    Fri 2 Aug 2024
    Sat 3 Aug 2024
    Sun 4 Aug 2024
    Tue 6 Aug 2024
    Wed 7 Aug 2024
    Thu 8 Aug 2024
    Fri 9 Aug 2024
    Sat 10 Aug 2024
    Sun 11 Aug 2024
    Tue 13 Aug 2024
    Wed 14 Aug 2024
    Thu 15 Aug 2024
    Fri 16 Aug 2024
    Sat 17 Aug 2024
    Sun 18 Aug 2024
    Tue 20 Aug 2024
    Wed 21 Aug 2024
    Thu 22 Aug 2024
    Fri 23 Aug 2024
    Sat 24 Aug 2024
    Sun 25 Aug 2024
    Mon 26 Aug 2024
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Tue 27 Aug 2024
    Wed 28 Aug 2024
    Thu 29 Aug 2024
    Fri 30 Aug 2024
    Sat 31 Aug 2024
    Sun 1 Sep 2024
    Tue 3 Sep 2024
    Wed 4 Sep 2024
    Thu 5 Sep 2024
    Fri 6 Sep 2024
    Sat 7 Sep 2024
    Sun 8 Sep 2024
    Tue 10 Sep 2024
    Wed 11 Sep 2024
    Thu 12 Sep 2024
    Fri 13 Sep 2024
    Sat 14 Sep 2024
    Sun 15 Sep 2024
    Tue 17 Sep 2024
    Wed 18 Sep 2024
    Thu 19 Sep 2024
    Fri 20 Sep 2024
    Sat 21 Sep 2024
    Sun 22 Sep 2024
    Tue 24 Sep 2024
    Wed 25 Sep 2024
    Thu 26 Sep 2024
    Fri 27 Sep 2024
    Sat 28 Sep 2024
    Sun 29 Sep 2024
    Tue 1 Oct 2024
    Wed 2 Oct 2024
    Thu 3 Oct 2024
    Fri 4 Oct 2024
    Sat 5 Oct 2024
    Sun 6 Oct 2024
    Tue 8 Oct 2024
    Wed 9 Oct 2024
    Thu 10 Oct 2024
    Fri 11 Oct 2024
    Sat 12 Oct 2024
    Sun 13 Oct 2024
    Tue 15 Oct 2024
    Wed 16 Oct 2024
    Thu 17 Oct 2024
    Fri 18 Oct 2024
    Sat 19 Oct 2024
    Sun 20 Oct 2024
    Tue 22 Oct 2024
    Wed 23 Oct 2024
    Thu 24 Oct 2024
    Fri 25 Oct 2024
    Sat 26 Oct 2024
    Sun 27 Oct 2024
    Tue 29 Oct 2024
    Wed 30 Oct 2024
    Thu 31 Oct 2024
    Fri 1 Nov 2024
    Sat 2 Nov 2024
    Sun 3 Nov 2024
    Tue 5 Nov 2024
    Wed 6 Nov 2024
    Thu 7 Nov 2024
    Fri 8 Nov 2024
    Sat 9 Nov 2024
    Sun 10 Nov 2024
    Tue 12 Nov 2024
    Wed 13 Nov 2024
    Thu 14 Nov 2024
    Fri 15 Nov 2024
    Sat 16 Nov 2024
    Sun 17 Nov 2024
    Tue 19 Nov 2024
    Wed 20 Nov 2024
    Thu 21 Nov 2024
    Fri 22 Nov 2024
    Sat 23 Nov 2024
    Sun 24 Nov 2024
    Tue 26 Nov 2024
    Wed 27 Nov 2024
    Thu 28 Nov 2024
    Fri 29 Nov 2024
    Sat 30 Nov 2024
    Sun 1 Dec 2024
    Tue 3 Dec 2024
    Wed 4 Dec 2024
    Thu 5 Dec 2024
    Fri 6 Dec 2024
    Sat 7 Dec 2024
    Sun 8 Dec 2024
    Tue 10 Dec 2024
    Wed 11 Dec 2024
    Thu 12 Dec 2024
    Fri 13 Dec 2024
    Sat 14 Dec 2024
    Sun 15 Dec 2024
    Tue 17 Dec 2024
    Wed 18 Dec 2024
    Thu 19 Dec 2024
    Fri 20 Dec 2024
    Sat 21 Dec 2024
    Sun 22 Dec 2024
    Tue 24 Dec 2024
    Wed 25 Dec 2024
    Thu 26 Dec 2024
    Fri 27 Dec 2024
    Sat 28 Dec 2024
    Sun 29 Dec 2024
    Mon 30 Dec 2024
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Tue 31 Dec 2024
    Wed 1 Jan 2025
    Thu 2 Jan 2025
    Fri 3 Jan 2025
    Sat 4 Jan 2025
    Sun 5 Jan 2025

    Ticket price

    Free
    Accessibility
    Baby changing facilities
    Buggy friendly
    Wheelchair access

    Leeds Museums & Galleries

    You may also like
    Leeds Grand Theatre
    Guided Tours Talk
    Abbey House Museum
    Exhibitions Heritage
    Leeds Industrial Museum
    Heritage
    The Mansion Conservatory
    Exhibitions Visual Art