Image
organic shaped small scale sculpture made from plaster polymer, graphite and acrylic.
Image courtesy of Rosie Leventon
Until Fri 14 Jan 2022
Ripple of Light by Rosie Leventon
Exhibitions
Visual Art
Event organiser:
BLANK_

Rosie Leventon makes sculptural installations, and environmental art in the landscape. She experiments with new materials, such as Celotex Insulation, central heating pipes, recycled mobile phones and paperbacks, as well as more durable stone, water earth and wood and uses them in innovative ways. Continuing themes in her work are the promotion of meditation on vulnerability and the illusion of solidity and permanence in life; many of the works explore things which have been lost, hidden or forgotten.

During Covid-19, Leventon spent vast amounts of time in her workshop making a new series of smaller sculptures in response to the limitations of lockdown using only the materials she could  access; plywood or plaster and polymer. Rosie considers these  smaller sculptures as maquettes for larger pieces for the future. 

The sculptures originate from vernacular architecture, or objects that Leventon has seen on her travels from Orkney to Morocco, Turkey, Syria, Greece and Lebanon. Often these buildings are forgotten and overlooked, from wind towers to termite mounds. Reflecting on the series now it places Leventon in a mind of the familiar London skyline; the cheese grater and the gherkin. 

Leventon’s recent awards include Royal Society of Sculptors Spotlight Award 2020 and Felix & Spear Exhibition Prize 2020.

BLANK_

Creative Arts, University Centre Leeds
Quarry Hill Campus, Playhouse Square
Leeds
LS2 7BS
United Kingdom

53.798041, -1.534377

    Date
    Until Fri 14 Jan 2022
    Show all dates/times
    Mon 06 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Tue 07 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Wed 08 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Thu 09 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Fri 10 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Mon 13 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Tue 14 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Wed 15 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Thu 16 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Fri 17 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Mon 20 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Tue 21 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Wed 22 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Thu 23 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Fri 24 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Mon 27 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Tue 28 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Wed 29 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Thu 30 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Fri 31 Dec 2021
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Mon 03 Jan 2022
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Tue 04 Jan 2022
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Wed 05 Jan 2022
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Thu 06 Jan 2022
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Fri 07 Jan 2022
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Mon 10 Jan 2022
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Tue 11 Jan 2022
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Wed 12 Jan 2022
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Thu 13 Jan 2022
    1:00 am - 1:00 am
    Fri 14 Jan 2022
    1:00 am - 1:00 am

    Ticket price

    Free

    Please note we are not open on Saturday or Sunday. 

    Wheelchair access