Image
Dandelion screenprint; a field of dandelions set against a beautiful blue sky
Dandelion screenprint
Until Sat 18 Jun 2022
Kate Brooks Solo Print Exhibition
Exhibitions
Visual Art
Family friendly
Event organiser:
The Craft Centre and Design Gallery

Kate is a printmaker and painter based in Derbyshire.  She creates colourful   screenprints based on the beautiful countryside around her encapsulating the beauty of flowers, trees and wildlife in all four seasons.  Kate was first introduced to screen printing whilst creating a fabric collection for an end-of-year fashion show at art college.  She went on to study surface decoration at university and graduated in 1996.  Kate rediscovered her love of screen printing six years ago at Sheffield Print Club and has been creating hand-pulled screen prints ever since.  Her ideas originate from being outdoors in the beautiful countryside of Derbyshire where she lives.  She begins the design process by taking lots of observational photos of landscapes, trees, flowers and hedgerows whilst out walking.  She likes to create vibrant prints that capture the different colours of each season.  The use of colour is her passion and not many of her designs start without having a good idea of a colourway she wants to depict.  All of Kate’s designs are hand-drawn in ink and she creates her layers in Adobe Photoshop before heading for Little Canyon, her local print studio, to prepare her screens.  Often the most exciting part of the process is mixing and experimenting with layering to achieve the right colour combination.

https://www.craftcentreleeds.co.uk/katebrooksprintshow2022

    Date
    Until Sat 18 Jun 2022
    Show all dates/times
    Sat 28 May 2022
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Sun 29 May 2022
    11:00 am - 3:00 pm
    Tue 31 May 2022
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Wed 1 Jun 2022
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Thu 2 Jun 2022
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Fri 3 Jun 2022
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Sat 4 Jun 2022
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Sun 5 Jun 2022
    11:00 am - 3:00 pm
    Tue 7 Jun 2022
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Wed 8 Jun 2022
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Thu 9 Jun 2022
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Fri 10 Jun 2022
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Sat 11 Jun 2022
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Sun 12 Jun 2022
    11:00 am - 3:00 pm
    Tue 14 Jun 2022
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Wed 15 Jun 2022
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Thu 16 Jun 2022
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Fri 17 Jun 2022
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm
    Sat 18 Jun 2022
    10:00 am - 5:00 pm

    Ticket price

    Free

    Open Tue - Sat 10am - 5pm, Sundays open 11am – 3pm and closed Mondays.  Opening hours are subject to change under Government advice and guidance so if you're making a special journey to visit please check the website or give the gallery a call on 0113 378 7241. 

    Wheelchair/pushchair access via ramps in front of Leeds Library and via automatic doors once inside Visit Leeds & Art Gallery Shop.

    Buggy friendly
    Wheelchair access

    The Craft Centre and Design Gallery